A special meeting of Bloomsburg Town Council was held Monday, December 21, 2009, beginning at 7:00 p.m. in Council Chambers, Town Hall, 301 East Second Street, Bloomsburg, PA. Present were Mayor Dan Knorr; Council Members Paul Kinney, Diane Levan, Sylvia Costa, W. Carey Howell and William Kreisher; Police Chief Leo Sokoloski; Code Enforcement/Zoning/ Planning Officer Ed Fegley; Finance Specialist Theresa Baylor; Solicitor Jack Mihalik and Town Administrator Carol Mas. Absent was Council Member Kathy Shepperson.

CITIZENS TO BE HEARD - ATTORNEY PATRICK O'CONNELL

Attorney O'Connell spoke on behalf of the Bloomsburg Landlords Association and reviewed the issue of citations received by approximately 30 landlords for failure to comply with the Regulated Rental Licensing ordinance. He argued that the landlords were not given a notice that a citation would be forthcoming. He asked Council to rescind the citations or he would advise his clients to appeal the citations. When questioned by Solicitor Mihalik, the landlords agreed they were aware of the licensing process from previous years. E. Fegley noted that they were made aware of the change in the enforcement of the ordinance at the February meeting he held with the landlords. He also said that of the 28 citations filed, only 6 remain outstanding.

Council adjourned into executive session at 7:18pm to discuss legal issues with Solicitor Mihalik and reconvened at 7:42pm.

DENIAL OF RESCINDING CITATIONS

On a motion by P. Kinney, seconded by B. Kreisher and voted on Two (2) (P. Kinney and B. Kreisher voting "Yes") to Four (4) (D. Knorr, D. Levan, S. Costa and C. Howell voting "No"), Council denied rescinding the citations for failure to secure a regulated rental license from those landlords in full compliance of the ordinance with the landlords paying only the court costs filed.

ADOPTION OF ORDINANCE NO. 926 - TAX LEVY FOR 2010

On a motion by D. Levan, seconded by B. Kreisher and voted on Four (4) (P. Kinney, D. Levan, S. Costa and B. Kreisher voting "Yes") to Two (2) (D. Knorr and C. Howell voting "No"), Council adopted Ordinance No. 926 setting the tax levy for 2010 at 9.821 mills on each dollar of assessed valuation; 7.159 mills for general Town purposes, .882 for debt service, .380 for fire protection, .200 for the library and 1.200 for street lighting purposes.

APPROVAL OF 2010 BUDGET

On a motion by S. Costa, seconded by D. Levan and voted on Four (4) (P. Kinney, D. Levan, S. Costa and B. Kreisher voting "Yes") to Two (2) (D. Knorr and C. Howell voting "No"), Council approved the 2010 Budget with the change to the Recycling Fund Administrative Salary from \$40,000 to \$38,740.

APPROVAL OF 2010 EMPLOYEE SALARIES AND WAGES

On a motion by S. Costa, seconded by C. Howell and voted on Five (5) (D. Knorr, P. Kinney, D. Levan, S. Costa and B. Kreisher voting "Yes") to One (1) (C. Howell voting "No"), Council approved the employee salaries and wages for 2010 with the change to the salary of Charles Fritz from \$40,000.00 to \$38,737.61.

Appointed Official		
Town Administrator	Carol L. Mas	\$61,195.04/yr.
		<i>\(\)</i>
Administrative Salaried		
Code Enforcement & Zoning Officer	Ed Fegley	\$51,638.54/yr.
Assistant Code Enforcement & Zoning Officer	Ralph Magill	\$37,732.97/yr.
Human Resources Specialist	Amber Kenney	\$39,367.52/yr.
Finance Specialist	Theresa Baylor	\$33,120.00/yr.
<u>Clerical</u>		
Administrative Assistant (Code)	Christine Meeker	\$18.06/hr.
Office Assistant	Amy Seamans	\$13.93/hr.
Puilding (Crounds		
Building/Grounds Cleaning/Maintenance Personnel	Corey Kreischer	\$10.17/hr.
cleaning/ maintenance reisonnen	corey kreischer	Ş10.17/11.
Police Department		
Police Chief	Leo Sokoloski	\$77,156.72/yr.
Lieutenant	Joseph Wondoloski	\$58,208.53/yr.
Sergeant	, Roger VanLoan	\$53,119.98/yr.
Sergeant	Leonard Rogutski	\$53,119.98/yr.
Patrol Officer III	Bradley Sharrow	\$48,638.36/yr.
Patrol Officer III	Matthew Golla	\$48,638.36/yr.
Patrol Officer III	Lewis Carl, IV	\$48,638.36/yr.
Patrol Officer III	James Cromley	\$48,638.36/yr.
Patrol Officer III	Charles Balon	\$48,638.36/yr.
Patrol Officer III	Steve Persing	\$48,638.36/yr.
Patrol Officer III	Shawn Hill	\$48,638.36/yr.
Patrol Officer III	Melanie Readler	\$48,638.36/yr.
Patrol Officer III	Kenneth Auchter	\$48,638.36/yr.
Patrol Officer III	Michael Fosse	\$48,638.36/yr.
Patrol Officer III	Nicholas Szkodny	\$48,638.36/yr.
Patrol Officer II	Thomas Pfeiffer	\$47,448.41/yr.
Part Time Patrol Officer	Martin Boudman	\$14.94/hr.
Part Time Patrol Officer	David Edgar	\$14.94/hr.
Part Time Patrol Officer	Ryan Edgar	\$14.94/hr.
Part Time Patrol Officer	Ronald Jumper	\$14.94/hr.
Part Time Patrol Officer	Frank Varano	\$14.94/hr.
Part Time Patrol Officer	Jonathan Yaskiewicz	\$14.94/hr.
Law Enforcement Administrative Assistant	Elise Hughes	\$17.97/hr.
Police Clerk	Randi Fetterman	\$11.39/hr.
Part Time Police Clerk	Mary Kate Buck	\$9.10/hr.
Part Time Police Clerk	Jamie Nemic	\$9.10/hr.
Parking Enforcement Officer	Doug Levan	\$12.67/hr.
Part Time Parking Enforcement Officer	Ryan Salas	\$10.50/hr.
Public Works		
Superintendent	John Barton	\$63,348.54/yr.
Foreman	Carl Barratt	\$20.77/hr.
Garage Mechanic	Larry Brown	\$19.43/hr.
Crew Chief w/CDL	David Eyer	\$18.95/hr.
Crew Chief w/o CDL	Larry Poust	\$18.12/hr.
Plumber/Crew Chief	John Fritz	\$18.95/hr.
Operator	Wayne Creasy	\$17.99/hr.
Operator	Curt Laubach	\$17.99/hr.
Operator	Scott Martz	\$17.99/hr.
Operator	Neil Zeisloft	\$17.99/hr.
Skilled Laborer (seasonal)		\$11.33/hr.
Unskilled Laborer (seasonal)		\$8.84/hr.
Concrete Work		\$.40/hr.

Recycling		
Environmental Services Administrator	Charles Fritz	\$38,737.61/yr.
Assistant Operations Manager	Dean Bogert	\$17.77/hr.
Driver	Larry Long	\$16.52/hr.
Driver	Michelle Shaffer	\$16.52/hr.
Driver	Brian Sitler	\$16.52/hr.
Driver	Ron Russell	\$16.52/hr.
Other Wage Rate and Commissions		
Town Solicitor		100.00/hr.
Town Solicitor - Litigation at Common Pleas & above		125.00/hr.
Zoning Hearing Board Solicitor		110.00/meeting
Town Public Works Consultant		(as needed)
Fire Chief	Robert Rupp	2,000.00/yr.
Emergency Management Coordinator	Joseph Wondoloski	2,000.00/yr.
Earned Income Tax Commission		1.75%
Occupational Privilege Tax Commission		1.75%
Gross Receipts Tax Commission		1.75%
Amusement Tax Commission		1.00%
Tax Collector - Real Estate and Per Capita Taxes		15,000/yr.

APPROVAL OF FIFTEEN MINUTE PARKING FOR RISING DOUGH BAKERY

On a motion by P. Kinney, seconded by S. Costa and voted on Five (D. Knorr, P. Kinney, S. Costa, C. Howell and B. Kreisher voting "Yes") to One (D. Levan voting "No"), Council approved posting a Fifteen Minute Parking Only from 6:00am to 6:00pm sign in front of the Rising Dough Bakery located at 417 West Main Street.

DENIAL OF CERTIFICATE OF APPROPRIATENESS FOR BEVERLY SEYBERT

On a motion by D. Knorr, seconded by D. Levan and voted on Three (3) (D. Knorr, D. Levan and B. Kreisher voting "Yes") to Three (3) (P. Kinney, S. Costa and C. Howell voting "No"), Council failed to approve a recommendation to deny a certificate of appropriateness for Beverly Seybert of 250 Jefferson Street due to a lack of a majority.

APPROVAL OF CERTIFICATE OF APPROPRIATENESS FOR BEVERLY SEYBERT

On a motion by P. Kinney, seconded by S. Costa and voted on unanimously, Council approved a Certificate of Appropriateness for Beverly Seybert of 250 Jefferson Street to remove not more then six (6) feet of the porch; the railing will be removed from the street side; the remaining porch floor will remain wood; two (2) columns will be replaced with 4" round columns that mimic the current columns; the porch roof and trim will remain as is; a tree will be removed; the chimney will remain and the sidewalk is to remain in place when the driveway is paved.

With no further business, the meeting adjourned at 8:58pm.

CAROL L. MAS Town Administrator & Secretary